AfroPHC Youth Hub

The AfroPHC Executive Board has been keen to set up a Youth Hub for AfroPHC. Marie-Claire Wangari was tasked to set up an AfroPHC Youth Hub. This was established in October 2021 with AHESS, Youth4UHC, FAMSA, IFMSA, IPSF-Afro, ANNSI, IADS with a steering committee.

The representatives of the Youth Hub Steering Committee as of 02 March 2022 are as follows:

  • African Leaders Malaria Alliance (ALMA) Youth Army: Mr. Aloyce Urassa (Tanzania)- Chair
  • AfroPHC Advisory Board: Dr. Kapil Narain (South Africa)
  • AfroPHC ECT: Dr. Marie-Claire Wangari (Kenya), Dr. Mercy Wanjala (Kenya)
  • AHESS: Dr. Mashkur Isa (Nigeria / Poland), Dr. David Otobo (Nigeria)
  • Amref, Youth4UHC: Mr. Bidian Okoth (Kenya)- Chair
  • ANNSI: Mr. Ahmed Gamal (Egypt)- Founder, Mr. Israel Fawole (Nigeria)
  • FAMSA: Mr. Philemon Kojo-Woode (Nigeria / Ghana)- Immediate Former Chair, Dr. Pokam Ornella (Cameroon)
  • IADS: Ms. Aya Abdullah (Sudan)-Regional Coordinator, Africa
  • IFMSA: Ms. Zainab Elyas (Sudan)-Regional Director-Africa
  • IPSF: Mr. Moussa Fofana (Mali)- Chairperson- Africa Regional Office, Ms. Ella Mucye (Rwanda)

Youth Hub Focus areas:

  • Primary healthcare advocacy and policy
    • Primary healthcare social accountability
    • Policy (position paper)
  • Universal access to primary healthcare services
    • Access to medicines
    • Mental health
    • NCDs
  • Capacity Building (knowledge sharing, building communities)
  • COVID-19 (Awareness, Vaccine Equity, Psychosocial support)

The Youth Hub have applied to be part of the WHO Youth Council

AfroPHC had a consultation with Youth Leaders 10-1pm GMT Saturday 3rd September to meet with as many colleagues from our Youth Hub Leaders [with English-French translators]. The consultation was facilitated by Mercy Wanjala and Jamie Colloty. See recording below