Invitation: CSO consultation on Pandemic FIF

Pandemic Action Network, the Center for Indonesia’s Strategic Development Initiatives (CISDI), the Eastern Africa National Networks of AIDS Service Organisations (EANNASO), and WACI Health invite you to an official Civil Society Organization (CSO) consultation for the design phase of the new Financial Intermediary Fund (FIF) for Pandemic Prevention, Preparedness, and Response (PPR).

Two dates and times have been set to engage partners from multiple geographies and in multiple languages (English, French, and Spanish interpretation will be provided for each session). The focus of these first two consultations will be the same, so please choose the date and time that works best for you

August 16
2pm-3:30pm WIB (Jakarta) / 10am-11:30am EAT (Nairobi) / 8am-9:30am BST (London)


August 17
4pm-5:30pm BST (London) / 11am-12:30pm ET (New York) / 10am-11:30am CDT (Mexico City)

Register here

WHO publication “Implication of the COVID-19 Pandemic for Patient Safety: A Rapid Review”, Tuesday, 09 August 2022

Dear Colleagues,

Greetings from the WHO Patient Safety Flagship in Geneva.

The COVID-19 pandemic has profoundly impacted nearly all countries’ health systems and diminished their capability to provide safe health care, specifically due to errors, harm and delays in diagnosis, treatment and care management. In preparation for the forthcoming fifth Global Ministerial Summits on Patient Safety, scheduled to be held on 23-24 February 2023 in Montreux, Switzerland as the host country, has been working with WHO to better understand the implications of the COVID-19 pandemic for patient safety.

As part of this ongoing initiative, WHO Patient Safety Flagship is planning to launch the publication “Implication of the COVID-19 Pandemic for Patient Safety: A Rapid Review”, in a virtual event on Tuesday, 09 August 2022, 14:00-15:30 (CEST).

The objectives of this event are to:

– provide an overview of implications of the COVID-19 pandemic for patients, health workers, and the general public

– highlight the importance of managing risks and addressing avoidable harm in a pandemic situation

– discuss implications of the pandemic for patient safety within the broader context of preparedness, response and recovery

– lay the foundation for follow-up work around generating more robust evidence and supporting countries in their efforts to build resilient and safer health care systems.

We hope that you join us for this event on Tuesday, 09 August 2022 at 14:00-15:30 CEST.

Please register at the link. https://echo.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_yVOgkzyvSaCzPXW1r6CY5A, also included in the attached flyer [HIFA does not carry attachments].

Simultaneous interpretation will be available in English, French and Spanish.


Thanks and best regards,

Dr Neelam DHINGRA
Unit Head
WHO Patient Safety Flagship/